Ex-Christian.net Exposed – My atheist afterlife

Sarah Bertrand, in her article called ‘My atheist afterlife’ said “As a Christian, I could have fun now, repent later, and it was heaven that really counted…I had plenty of time before I had to worry about that”. Sarah has since left the faith. But is that what repentance is all about? (http://new.exchristian.net/2010/03/my-atheist-afterlife.html)

The bible teaches that repentance is necessary for anybody to be born-again, and without it then salvation is not possible. Being born-again is accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and savior through forgiveness of your sins. The bible says “That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved (Romans 10:9). With regards to repentance, the bible says “Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord” (Acts 3:19). So it is clear that accepting Jesus as your Lord and savior goes hand-in-hand with repenting from one’s sins. A man who has quit smoking is not the same as the man who has repented from smoking and accepted Jesus as their Lord and savior. The earlier has nothing to do with a declaration of one’s faith, while the latter is meant to be a declaration of one’s faith in Jesus Christ for salvation. So repentance that doesn’t go hand-in-hand with trusting Jesus Christ for salvation is noble but doesn’t lead anyone to being born-again. The same goes for trusting Jesus Christ for salvation when there’s no repentance that goes hand-in-hand with it. It’s like saying ‘Jesus I trust you to control my life but in the meantime I’ll control it’. It just doesn’t work.

Apostle Paul testifying to a Roman court chaired by King Agrippa, said people should “turn to God and prove their repentance by their deeds” (Acts 26:20). You turn to God by faith, through praying a sinner’s prayer, and you have to prove your repentance by actually repenting. The specialty definition on Webster Dictionary has this to say about repentance:

Repentance is the feeling and act in which one recognizes and tries to right a wrong, or gain forgiveness from someone that they wronged. In religious contexts it usually refers to repenting for a sin against God. It always includes an admission of guilt, and also includes at least one of: a solemn promise or resolve not to repeat the offense; an attempt to make restitution for the wrong, or in some way to reverse the harmful effects of the wrong where possible.

As the definition says, for one to prove their repentance, then they have resolve not to repeat the offense.

How could you say you had repented when you didn’t resolve not to repeat the offense? How could you boast and say I was ‘having fun now, repent later’, when you claim to have repented? The bible says “Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation” (2 Corinthians 7:10). In simple terms: repentance > salvation. As the bible says, how were you born-again to begin with when there were no deeds to prove your repentance? The first sermon Jesus preached was based on the message that said “Repent, for the Kingdom of heaven is near”. Coincidentally, it’s the same message that John the Baptists preached throughout his whole ministry. So how could anybody expect to be in heaven when they hadn’t repented from their sins? This baffles me!

Sarah as sincere as she was, she didn’t understand what repentance is all about and how it’s linked to one’s salvation. Unfortunately the church in Corinth also misunderstood this important doctrine, and they forced Apostle Paul to say to them: “Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase?” (Romans 6:1). They thought God’s grace to forgive every sin enables them to sin as they want and come back for forgiveness afterwards, but Paul shot them down and said “By no means! We died to sin; how can we live in it any longer?” The problem is when you are not dead to sin, then you would do what Sarah did, you’ll have one foot in your sins and another foot in God. That’s why we have scandals in the church because of people who were not dead in their sins. The fact that she could manage to live in sin even though she was “born-again” is proof that repentance never took place.

How do I explain the fact that Sarah is no longer Christian? In Proverbs 29, the bible says “A man who remains stiff-necked after many rebukes will suddenly be destroyed—without remedy.” When you sin, God warns you over and over again and expects you to repent. But as the bible says, if the person living in sin refuses to repent after many rebukes, then their hearts become hardened towards God’s rebukes and that leads to their destruction. She could ‘repent’ after the first 10 times she lived in sin, but suddenly ‘repentance’ became more and more difficult, until she couldn’t care anymore.

If you haven’t repented from sins, and can’t prove your repentance through deeds, then you are in trouble of going the same way.

10 Comments »

  1. NinjaNoel said

    while we repeat posting…

    Sello, I think Sarah’s post is genuine, as was her repentance each time she repented, but when she states ‘having fun now, repent later’ it is probably a view from hindsight, considering ‘the flesh is weak but the spirit is willing’ (a favourite among christians). This is the pattern among most people that put the ‘faith’ in a ‘higher power’ that doesn’t really have any power except that which they grant it. You can imagine having the conviction each ‘episode of sin’ creates, sin, repent, repeat. That ‘conviction’ fuels the belief that they have indeed been forgiven and have now ‘turned a corner’, but very soon the conviction is forgotten in the fog of life and the guilt starts building again until the ‘release valve’ of repentance starts the cycle once more. My opinion anyway.

    P.S. I asked you before about how you equate your ‘feelings of god’ with ‘the words in the bible’. As you are a sincere believer and a representative of one whom you say is all powerful, please don’t leave me hanging, that would be mis-representing your ‘god’. If you dont understand my question, ask me some questions for more meaning, but dont shy away from the difficult questions. I want answers! lol

  2. Perhaps I interpreted the ‘have fun now’ part wrongly, but if it’s true then my argument stands. If I’m wrong, then the argument is a Christian is not meant to be addicted from sins, and every day that passes by should afford a Christian a higher dimension of victory over sin. If you suffered from lying today, then tomorrow you should be suffering less and less until lying doesn’t bother you anymore. That’s how Christianity works. A Christian should never become a slave to the same sin everyday and forever, otherwise then it’s a clear sign that Jesus Christ wasn’t resurrected from the dead or that particular Christian is not sincere.

    P.S Christianity has nothing to do with feelings. I don’t have to feel the presence of God before I can know that God lives in me. The bible says He does live in me, so that settles it for me. It doesn’t matter if I feel it or not, because feelings in that sense are not biblical. So the bible takes precedence over any feelings I have. Of course it does help to have experiences with God which reaffirm what the bible teaches, but those experience don’t supercede or refute the bible’s position on the matter.

    Tell me if it does answer your question.

  3. NinjaNoel said

    “I don’t have to feel the presence of God before I can know that God lives in me.” – well in the thread where I originally asked the question, you stated that you felt god, in that same thread you were given ample examples of contradictions in the bible, and we were discussing how a ‘perfectly loving’ god directed his followers to commit genocide, if I remember correctly. In light of that evidence, I speculated that you must have had a POWERFUL experience of god which then convinced you of the bible, because looking at the bible at face value, how can you expect us to that someone that is seeking out a loving god would believe the fear mongering in the bible? That is why I ask how your experience relates to what you find in the bible.

  4. NinjaNoel said

    apologies, typo …how can you expect us to [believe] that someone that is…

  5. “I don’t have to feel the presence of God before I can know that God lives in me.” I didn’t deny the existence of feelings, all I’m saying is feelings ‘don’t supercede or refute the bible’s position’ on the existence of God and His living in us.

  6. NinjaNoel said

    So you have no defense of why you believe a book so full of contradictions and genocide? Or rather than begging the question, I’ll ask this, why is it that you think I think it’s so full of genocide, and what is your defense of those genocidal acts. Remember of course that love acting in any other way other than love is not love, so if ‘god is love’ then he would only ever show love. Does the bible claim god is love? Is he somehow showing love by ordering genocide?

    Please, don’t pick the easiest question and answer that, pick the most challenging of the above, and show me how awesome the God of the Bible really is! 🙂

  7. I have never seen a contradiction in the bible, nor have I seen genocide. But I have seen justice being applied fairly by God in the bible, and He still applies it even today. Justice doesn’t mean lack of love.

  8. NinjaNoel said

    umm, really!?! Well you see you dodged my question and didn’t choose the most difficult one to answer. Why is it then that you think I THINK there is contradictions and genocide in the bible?

  9. Write an article on contradictions in the bible and post it on ex-Christians.net, and I’ll respond to it.

  10. Katoblephas said

    Hi ther Sello… I must thank you for this.. that response to the article gave us more to discuss then the article itselfs. Well, please go there and continue answering our doubts, it’s always good to reflect

    although I can’t agree with you on that “historical issue” since I have a bachelor degree in history, but ok, you can see all my comments there and I invite you to respond them

    regards,
    Katoblephas

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

