The notebook: Are some worse sinners?

I have a notebook that I used to carry everywhere with me, and I would write whatever God has laid on my heart after reading his Word. Nowadays I carry my laptop and 3G with me everywhere, to my wife’s irritation, so I can write whatever revelations God reveals in me. Here is what I wrote on the 29th Oct 2008, titled ‘Are some worse sinners?’:

Luke 13:2-3 says “Do you think that these Galileans were worse sinners than all the other Galileans because they suffered this way? I tell you, no! But unless you repent, you too will also perish”. 

There is a perception among people that there are those who are worse sinners than others. Non-believers will tell you that serial killers and rapists are worse sinners. As such they show disgust when some of this ‘worse’ sinners receive forgiveness of their sins from God. They claim daylight robbery, because they are of the opinion that their own sins are better, and they deserve forgiveness more than these ‘worse’ sinners. Many of them reject God’s word because God is able to forgive everybody who asks forgiveness of Him. They are still of the opinion that salvation is through good works, and one needs to be a model citizen before they become born-again. One of them asked me if it’s fair that a killer can get forgiveness from God while they have brought such calamity onto the lives of people. He continued and said “do you expect the victim’s family to also accept God’s forgiveness for their sins?’. The answer is that everybody was born a sinner, and no sin is bigger than the other. The bible says the only sin that can’t be forgiven is rejecting (blasphemy) the Holy Spirit. There are also Christians who have different categories of sin. According to them, homosexuality is the worst sin, while the non-payment of tithes and traffic fines are considered moderate sins. Hypocrites!

 No amount of messing up could ever stand in the way of God’s love for you. You can never do any crimes that God won’t be able to forgive.

1 Comment »

  1. I don’t usually reply to posts but I will in this case, great info…I will bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

