It’s our anniversary.

Pearl and I celebrated our two year anniversary yesterday, and it was a very emotional occasion for both of us. It took us back to the day when we both stood in front of a pastor, and he read us the most amazing scripture I have ever seen. He read from Psalm 127, which says: “unless the Lord builds the house, its builders labor in vain…….sons are a heritage from the Lord, children a reward from him”.

This scripture blew us away, and we began to recognize that without God’s help our marriage will not survive, not because we won’t put efforts in it but because our previous sinful lives will put a lot of pressure on it, to its detrimental. (Well at least that’s what I thought). At the time we had just been born-again for two months, and we were still struggling to put our sinful lives behind us. But at that point we trusted God to be with us all the way, and we invited Him to be part of our marriage, not only through affirmation but by also dedicating everything we do in our home for His glory. The results have been awesome, and we become grateful whenever we reminisce and recognize God’s loving hand towards our family. We don’t have a perfect marriage, but our marriage has been awesome and it reaches new heights every day, all through God’s love. 

There was a point, during my sinful life, when I thought marriage would be the worst thing that could ever happen to me, as I felt I can never be able to be with one woman my whole life. Yet now, since Jesus came into my life, I can never picture myself being with any other woman except my Pearl. Infact I doubt if I’ll ever remarry if she were to die prematurely. The thought of seeing another woman naked (even on TV) makes me want to puke, yet three years ago it was a pleasure I was striving for. That’s what happens when Jesus takes over a person’s life, He changes a person from being a fornicator and a future adulterer to being a man who’ll ‘love his wife just as Christ loved the church’.

Do you know how I’m certain that God exists? Because I prayed a simple prayer of faith, and my life has been changing ever since, for the better. The certainty I have with regards to God’s existence is the reason I know that 50 years from now, God willing, I’ll still be married to Pearl and the possibility of a divorce will never become real in my marriage. How do I know that? Because we would have never survived the past two years, had God didn’t exist.

Are you certain your marriage will survive the storms of life? Do you struggle with adultery, even in your own heart by looking lustfully at women? Is your marriage in trouble? Do you struggle to make a lifelong commitment to your baby-mama? If any of this is happening to you, then there’s a solution to be found in Jesus Christ. Ask Him to come to your life by praying a simple prayer of faith (sinner’s prayer, look at the sidebar), and trust Him to help you in your marriage.

Leave a Reply

