FIFA World Cup 2010 and Evangelism update 3

World Cup outreaches are getting better every day, and it is definitely the best time of my Christian life. Years from now I will look back at this few weeks and I’ll conclude that they were the turning point in my Christian life, and I got closer to God than I have ever been in my two and a half years as a Christian.

25th June 2010, Loftus Stadium

Having had a very tiring but miraculous day on the 23rd June at both Loftus and Soccer City Stadiums, my feet were aching and I really didn’t feel like joining the outreach team for the game between Chile and Spain. Because of the fatigue I was under after the Soccer City outreach, I decided to skip work on the 24th so I can recuperate, yet I was even more tired on the 25th. I wrestled with Satan the whole day, and he tried by all means to convince me not to attend the outreach, but somehow I dragged myself to Loftus stadium only to find none of my outreach team present. An hour later, three of our members arrived, but it didn’t matter because we had no enough tracts to distribute. Infact I remember carrying only 3 English tracts, and less than 10 Spanish tracts, and I was very discouraged and fatigued. I had faced great opposition to get to the outreach, and it looked as if it wasn’t even worth it, but I just didn’t know the plan God had for me on that day.

Myself and the Ugandan sisters (Miriam and Helen), walked around 500 meters to get to the open-air preaching team, and we were a bit encouraged when they gave us Spanish tracts only to find that they also didn’t have English tracts to give to locals. The situation was clear that there needed to be more preaching than tracts distribution on that day, and it didn’t take long for Gary and Tim before they asked me if I wanted to preach. As usual I refused to preach, and told them about how it wasn’t my ministry, especially since I was a stutter. They were quick to remind me of Moses, and how he was also a stutter yet he managed to lead Israel from captivity. Even though they were convincing I still rejected their invitations to preach to the people, and my decision was justified for a moment.

Minutes later, a local man coming back from work passed where we were, and he listened attentively to Gary and Tim as they were preaching. I approached the man to speak to him, and he told me about how he desires to go to heaven but he doesn’t know how he can achieve that. I had never seen a man who had more godly sorrow than this man had. He sorrowed over his sins, and he was willing to repent from them, in what the bible calls a godly sorrow that brings repentance that lead to salvation (see 2 Corinthians 7:10). His name was Sizwe from Mamelodi in Pretoria, and I explained to him how he can inherit the kingdom of heaven, by repenting from his sins and trusting the savior. I prayed with him, and he went away rejoicing, and I have no doubt in my mind that I will see him again in heaven one day.

I came back rejoicing and thanking God for persuading me to go the stadium, even though I had many good reasons not to. And coming back to where Tim and Gary were, there was a young local man who was looking to buy a ticket for the game from people who were passing by. He was listening to them preaching, yet he wasn’t paying attention. I approached and asked him if he knew where he would be after he dies, which is what our preachers were talking about. He said he didn’t know where he would be, and he didn’t seem to know much or anything at all with regards to the bible and it’s teachings on heaven and hell. I took him through the Law and showed him his spiritual state, then gave him the good news of the death and resurrection of Jesus. He understood his predicament and his need for repentance, and right there he prayed with me while countless people were passing by. It was the first time I saw a young man who was willing to give his life to Jesus publicly, and didn’t even mind the people who were seeing him. This young man was looking for the ticket to the soccer game, yet he left with a ticket to God’s Book of Life.

My first open-air

At this point, God had worked more in my life than He has ever done, yet more was still to come. Armed with about 200 Spanish tracts and only about five English, I went out looking for people to give them to. I managed to find a good spot to distribute these tracts to Spanish and Chilean fans, but I felt bad because thousands of locals passed by and I had nothing to give them. I managed to distribute three quarters of the tracts, then I went back join the preachers. I found Willem Pretorius who had just finished preaching and was taking a breather, and he asked me if I wanted to preach. I hesitated at once, since Gary and Tim had already pleaded with me to preach and I refused. But somehow since I knew that Willem wasn’t a ‘professional’ preacher and was only learning himself, I felt comfortable with the idea. I knew my stuttering wouldn’t allow me to preach , so I then decided to read passages from the bible on the Law then Grace. By which I decided to read Exodus 20 and John 3, and I took the mic and started to read out loud. Last thing I remember is Willem taking a picture of me, then I was surrounded by everybody from the preaching team including some people passing by. Gary, Tim, Jason and Bill were surprised, since I had refused to preach earlier. Next thing I know there were two gentlemen with a big video camera shooting me. I thought they were with us as such I didn’t mind, but I was later told by Gary that they were from Congo TV and they were shooting the video for their television program. The excitement of Gary and Tim was astonishing, but it didn’t sink to me what had just happened until later.

Four weeks before the day, I had wrestled with God over the issue of open-air preaching as I was raised by a woman, my grandmother, who preached open-air every morning in my home town, and this has always been my wish. For the last four weeks I had thought that open-air preaching was a closed issue for me, but God has revealed His might on me. Not only have I realized a way to overcome my stuttering for preaching purposes, but I now have the assurance that it’s God’s will for me to do open-air. A day that was supposed to be of frustration and discouragement ended up being a glorious day that revealed more of God’s will for my life.

What I have learned

  • True biblical evangelism (Law to the proud and Grace to the humble) always bear fruit
  • There’s nothing to fear about outreaches
  • God is prepared to use people who are willing, even though they may not be able
  • Many souls are perishing, and I shouldn’t keep quiet
3 Comments »

  1. Jason Karroll said

    Great job brother, it was a pleasure working with you

  2. Wow, awesome weblog format! How lengthy have you ever been running a
    blog for? you make running a blog glance easy.
    The entire look of your web site is fantastic, let alone the
    content material!

  3. Hi my family member! I want to say that this
    article is awesome, nice written and include almost all significant
    infos. I’d like to peer more posts like this .

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

