Solomon’s Proverbs – A Christian can’t commit sexual sin!

I have always been fascinated by the wisdom of the ancient King of Israel, King Solomon, and the bible says he was the wisest man who has ever lived. I remember writing a short summary of what he studied during his life, and I declared that no man who has ever lived had a better resume that him. In an article called ‘God created science’ I said King Solomon was a “Botanist, Zoologist, Ornithologist, Herpetologist and Ichthyologist, and a song writer of 1 005 songs…..who also wrote 3000 proverbs”. And I asked if there ever has been a man with a better resume, and somebody said Leonardo Da Vinci’s resume was as impressive if not better. In this series, I would be looking at some of the most fascinating proverbs and teachings that King Solomon has ever written. 

Last night, 18August 2010, I had a dream that convinced me that it’s impossible for any Christian to engage in sexual immorality. In the dream I was seduced by this young girl, and every time she seduced me the voice of God would say don’t give in to it. It happened more than 10 times, and in all that time God would warn me many times not to even think about it. It happened so many times that I ended up giving in, and then before I could engage in sexual immorality I woke up. This dream taught me that for any Christian to engage in sexual immorality then he would have to backslide for a considerable time, and his conscience would have to be silenced to a point where he can’t even listen to the warnings of God.

Any man who is still in the fellowship of God, and whose conscience is awakened, will never engage in sexual immorality. Sexual immorality starts first with the eye; Solomon said “The eye never has enough of seeing” (Ecclesiastes 1:8). A moral decline that leads to sexual immorality starts first with what a man allows himself to see, hence Solomon says “who winks with his eye, signals with his feet and motions with his fingers” (Proverbs 6:13). It is okay to look at a beautiful woman once, because you can’t help it and it’s coincidental, but a second look usually leads to lust. It is the second look of the eye that sends signals to other parts of the body, which leads to movements of the feet towards the woman. But a Christian man knows that Jesus equaled lust to adultery (see Matthew 5:28), and Job said he made a covenant with his eyes not to look lustfully at a woman (see Job 31:1). A Christian man listens to Solomon when he says “Do not lust in your heart after her beauty or let her captivate you with her eyes” (Proverbs 6:25). A Christian man knows when to close his eyes or re-direct them, so he won’t be captivated by the beauty of God’s creation.

Since I got born-again, more than two years ago, God’s creation has gotten more beautiful than it was before I was born-again, in fact I see less ugly women now that I’m saved than when I was in my sins. This situation brings me into hostility with my eyes, and if there is any part of my body that hates my new status in Christ is my eyes. I have denied them the right to see anything they wants to see, and I have imposed a covenant to them that will last for eternity. For a Christian man to commit sexual immorality, he would have to lose control of his eyes, and when that happens then every part of the body will be loose, as the feet will be free to rush into sin. A non-believer on the other hand can’t take control of his eyes hence sexual immorality comes easy to him.

I know I will never commit sexual immorality, because God’s commands have taken residence in my life.

5 Comments »

  1. Chris said

    I understand what you are saying here, however, it just seems a little nieve. We all come short of the glory of God. You can’ t say you “will never commit sexual immorality”. I had stated something along those lines, before I married, and I failed.

    Are you married, or in the process of being so. If not, it may be hard for you to understand.

    Even King David committed sexual immorality with Bathsheba, and he was a man after God’s own heart.

    What I’m trying to say is that if we sin, we need to confess that sin. God is not looking for perfection. If he was, he would have never sent his son to die for us, cause we wouldn’t have needed him.

    I do commend you for your good intentions. Just need to ask for God’s continuing mercy and grace in your life. Thank him for his son.

    Being a Christian is definately a growing process. That is why we are here. To grow together, to better his kingdom.

    God bless.

    • You are correct, David did commit adultery and he also had many wives and girlfriends (concubines). I however feel that for a Christian to commit adultery, he would have to be consistently in rebellion against God. Adultery starts with lust, then leads to lying to your spouse and living a deceitful life, until it leads to sexual intercourse. To commit adultery, a Christian would have to sin (break the commandments) so many times and ignore God’s warning to a point of silencing his conscience. When a Christian live a life of sin then it’s fair to conclude that he has backsliden. So my point is that a Christian man would have to backslide first before he can sin sexually against God.

      I am married, an I’m aware that it’s only God’s grace that keeps me from sexual sins, more specifically lust. And I’m aware that to sin once, then twice, then three times without repentance then it would mean I have backsliden. However I’m not condemning anyone.

      • methodus said

        Your sequence can’t be used as the standard because the sexual intercourse could take place before the lying to one’s wife etc. Hence, I don’t think your argument works. A Christian can commit adultery and many have, just because one is a Christian does not mean that they will not sin. The difference between the Christian and non-Christian is not that one sins and the other does not, but rather that the Christian (no matter how long it may take) always gets back up and tries again. It may be that God has told you that, you personally, will never commit adultery but it is patently false to say that no Christian will ever commit adultery.

        “Say to them, ‘This is what the LORD says: “When men fall down, do they not get up? When a man turns away, does he not return?'”
        – Jeremiah 8:4 NIV

  2. Dave said

    I agree with the others posting on here. You’re post is false, and here is why… first if all just because someone is a Christian doesn’t mean they are immune to the flesh and will not commit sexual sin, I’m a Christian and an struggling with sexual sin constantly because of an addiction to it and also I have O.C.D. however I know I’m sinning and am trying my hardest to stop but I fail ALOT of times. And some times I get scared I’m not worthy of God’s love and mercy but I know he will forgive me my sins. I am a backslider but my faith in God is true. I’m just struggling like many other Christians are. And there is no time period that I have to wait for God’s forgiveness through the blood of Christ I am forgiven.

  3. Rob said

    I love your post. As a man who has been taught self-control over time I wish that I had begun with the resolve and faith in His ability to keep me from sexual sin that you have. It’s not naive, it’s fath. It’s not false, it’s biblical. You are a new creation. You are no longer a slave to sin. You can do all things through Christ. Your post reminds me of 1 John 1:4-9, along with countless other verses. And you’re right…sexual sin isn’t something that a Follower will just fall into. Just like David, there will have to be many smaller compromises before he decides to be with another man’s wife and have him murdered to cover it up. Two men…one walking closely with the Lord and working within his calling, another who abandoned his calling and places himself in harm’s way. Joseph and David. One had the strength to run away when temptation came, the other didn’t. One was focused on all of God’s blessings, the other focused on someone else’s blessings and coveted them.

    The idea that your resolve is naive or false says the same about Job and even Jesus. We’re they naive in their resolve to stay pure? What about Paul? Or a teenage girl for that matter? Who is greater??? He that is in us or he that is in the world???

    Keep your resolve. Don’t let anyone look down on you because you’re young in the Faith. We need more men who will stand and be resolved to stay pure. It’s not unreasonable or impossible…it is a side effect of seeking God. Keep doing what you’re doing. Trust God and He’ll be glorified in your purity, you, your wife and your children for generations will be blessed by it, and the world will be a better place for it.

    As for the rest of us…let’s stop being cowards and trust God like this for ourselves. Sexual sin is no trivial matter.. It’s destroying men, women, families and churches everywhere. And while it’s difficult, we have yet to resist sin to the point of shedding our blood!!! He is with us!!!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

