Sexual Immorality and Romans 3:23

I’m sickened by the so-called Christians who pull Romans 3:23 on us every time they have been caught with their pants down. One of those men who were caught with his pants down had this to say: “God broke down my self-righteousness, my pride…”. What nonsense!

God will never lead anyone to engage in sexual immorality; in fact God hates sexual immorality. The bible says “flee from sexual immorality” (1 Corinthians 6:18), yet we are told by some that God can lead us to sexual immorality so He can break our self-righteousness. Which God can do such a thing? The same one who destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah because of sexual immorality?  The same one who killed every child, woman, man and animals because of the sexual immorality of the population of Noah’s time? The same one who killed King David’s child because he had sex with another man’s wife? The same God who promises to send all adulterers, fornicators, and homosexuals to the lake of fire for all eternity? The God who considers lust to be adultery, and who commanded every sexually immoral person to be stoned in the city gates? Anybody who will suggest that the God of the bible can lead a person to sexual immorality is blaspheming and shows lack of godly sorrow over sin.

However, “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9). I doubt repentance of every man who waits to be caught first before he confesses his sins to God and his people. It is clear to me that such a man would have continued in his sin had he not got caught, as such there’s no sign of godly sorrow that is necessary for repentance. A convicted man would confess his sin even it means he’ll lose the whole world, only if he can be at peace with God.

Some who have not repented from their sins, and have no fruits of repentance, convince us that it’s wrong to expect a Christian not to commit sexual immorality, as we are all humans and have fallen short of the glory of God. But that’s not what the bible says. The bible says sexual immorality is an act of the sinful nature, but self control is the fruit of the Spirit. It goes further and say “those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires” (Galatians 5:24). And also “for we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body of sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin— because anyone who has died has been freed from sin” (Romans 6:6-7). So how could we die in sin and are no longer slaves to sin yet sexual immorality is expected? It’s either the bible is lying and our sinful nature wasn’t buried with Jesus, or we have never repented to begin with. I’m not saying Christians are perfect, because we are not, but we are striving for perfection (holiness), and our efforts should mean we avoid sexual immorality at all costs.

As a young Christian man who struggled with sexual sins before conversion, I know just how tempting it is to commit sexual immorality. But how could I ever commit sexual immorality when I know very well that God would be watching everything? How could I ever tolerate looking with lust on a daily basis when the bible warns against haughty eyes (see Proverbs 21:4)? How could I ever book a hotel room in secret so I can have sexual relations with somebody who’s not my wife? How could I ever sleep next to my wife every night and pray with her when I know that I’m lying to her? How could I ever steal my family’s finances and use them to satisfy my sinful desires? How could I ever live a life of hypocrisy when I know that I’m sexually immoral?

A person who commits sexual immorality doesn’t only break the 7th commandment, but breaks all 10 commandments and continually break them. He lies to his wife, thereby breaking the 9th commandment. He covets his neighbor’s wife, thereby breaking the 10th commandment. He steals from his family so he can pay hotel bills, thereby breaking the 8th commandment. He definitely doesn’t love God by not obeying His commands. Galatians 6:1 says “if someone is caught in a sin, you who are spiritual should restore him gently”. But there’s no way the bible commands us to restore people who are not showing signs of repentance, but rather those who have genuine repentance. Those who have genuine sorrow over sin don’t wait to be caught first before they can confess their sins.

The greatest advice I have ever received is from my pastor who said “every Christian man should on a daily basis pray against pride, greed and sexual immorality”. Those three are the biggest enemies a Christian man can have, and they are always waiting to eat up the soul.

Sexual immorality is the greatest dishonor a person can show to Christ. If God can’t give a Christian victory over sin, then there’s no reason for anybody to be a Christian, and there’s no reason for anybody to think that God will raise them from the dead.

5 Comments »

  1. Barbra Kyokusiima said

    Indeed u must be fighting those desires! why sex of all sins? which is the greatest sin? if all sins re equal before God, why step so low to mind about wat human beings will say, our bodies are fresh, and Fresh only produces fresh, do expect fresh to produce spirit. u re living by wat other people ve conviced you to be, not wat God has made u to be, your worth to God is more than talking about sex, leave alone judging others, u choose to be judged by law or Grace, which ever u choose, but you do not choose for others,. which everway, we re still God’s ChIRLDREN

    • Ohi said

      You are just shallow minded taking advantage of the fact that God loves you to have a twisted mind same God that loves you says He doesn’t like sexual immorality and all other sins. If u really love someone would you do what they don’t like? The only reason I feel sex is talked about here is because it is one of those sins that is now seen as normal and has eaten deep into the society…we should stop taking advantage of Gods love and start loving Him back the bible says if you love me you would obey my word and His word is for us to stay away from sin infact in Christ we should be above sin not swiming in sin because we know God forgives

  2. Ohi said

    Please try contact me I love your view on Christianity I really wish the world have this same view I am like in a world of my own with those that are around me because they all have twisted mentality

  3. John Gabriel Attah said

    pls I grealy enjoy your write up on this spiritual scourge that is eating up the souls of humanity.pls I want to get your publications posted to my email box.May God almighty continue to increase and strengthen you.Thanks

  4. You’re right bro, I am also struggling form sexual desires and lustful eyes… ='< it is quite hard to avoid such views or acts, when some people tolerate immorality, and take it lightly because they don't fear God.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

